Sexy Black Throne For a Sexy Black Phone

Posted: 07/09/2010 in Desktop Layout

A couple of weeks ago I posted a few pictures of a stand I built for my HTC S710 VOX with some plastic building bits called Asoblock.  Well, I have now replaced that phone with a spunky new BlackBerry Curve 8520 which I am loving so very, very much.  I see why they are sometimes referred to as “CrackBerries”.

Of course, one of the key features of Asoblock is that it can be disassembled and built into various different configurations, and that certainly comes in handy when one gets a new piece of tech with different dimensions to your older device.  Below, for your viewing pleasure, I present you with my Asoblock BlackBerry Curve 8520 Stand MK1.  Technically, this is actually a MK2, but I forgot to take any photos of the first design, so now it is lost in the mists of time… No big loss really, it was a spindly, fiddly affair that was useless for one-handed operation in the dark (something I often do).

This design is incredibly stable as it has a wide and plentiful amount of surface area that sits flush on the desk.  In fact, the two forward “Claw” bits are purely decorative (but I thought they added a certain something).  Aesthetically, I played with the BlackBerry’s width as a sort of theme or general design notion, thus everything spreads out, like a claw or some sort of spider (at least in my diseased brain meats).  One thing that I badly wanted to incorporate into this design after my last attempt with the HTC, was a charging cable of some sort.  I played with a few ideas, but the end result was, without fail, a clunky mess of a thing thanks to the design of the USB and charger cables.  At least the charging port is available and easily accessible due to the design of the BlackBerry, so if you have a charger or USB cable plugged in nearby you can plug it in whilst it sits in the stand without any hassle whatsoever.

How to:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Just as before, I used only parts from the Asoblock 151K box, although having said that, I did use almost ALL the good bits.

Anyhow y’all, let me know if you’ve tried this build or even just if you think it’s an idea with any merit, I always look forward to feedback of any kind.

Take it easy and keep it sleazy!

Mojo

Leave a Reply

